Article I
The name of the organization is the Society for Advancing the History of South Asia (SAHSA)

Article II
Section 1. Membership in SAHSA is open to all scholars and graduate students who study the history of the South Asian region either directly or in relation to larger global histories.

Section 2. Membership dues and terms shall be established by the Officers of SAHSA in consultation with the Executive Committee and Advisory Board. Dates of membership will run from January 1 to December 31. Only members whose membership is current will be allowed to vote in any Society election, to hold a position of responsibility within the Society, or to participate at Society conferences. Members are responsible for informing the Secretary-Treasurer of changes in their email or ground mail addresses.

Article III
The SAHSA will convene its formal business meeting annually in conjunction with the AHA meeting. Other informal meetings may be held at other regional conferences, such as the annual Conference on South Asia at Madison, WI, at the discretion of the President, in consultation with the Executive Committee and Advisory Board.

Article IV
Section 1. The Officers of the SAHSA are: President, Vice-President/President-Elect, and Secretary-Treasurer. The officers shall be members of the SAHSA.

The President holds primary responsibility for governing the day-to-day operations of the Society, communication with membership, managing the Society’s relationship with AHA leadership and staff, and the organization of business meetings, amongst other duties as agreed with the Executive Committee. The President will be assisted in these duties by the Vice-President.

The Secretary-Treasurer is appointed by the Executive Committee and serves at its pleasure. The Secretary-Treasurer is responsible for maintaining the Society’s financial records, bank accounts, tax filings, membership rolls, and other duties as agreed with the Executive Committee.

Section 2. The Executive Committee governs the policy decisions of the Society and oversees the implementation of those policies. Voting members of the Executive Committee include the President, Vice-President/President Elect, immediate Past-President, and five at-large members of the Society. The President and President-Elect will each serve three-year terms. At-large members of the Executive Committee will serve two-year, renewable, terms. Membership on the Executive Committee will be staggered, such that no more than 50% of the committee’s seats will be up for election in any one year. In the event of an unexpired term, the President in consultation with the Executive Committee is empowered to appoint a member of the Society to complete the term.

The Executive Committee will also function as the body that oversees decisions regarding the sponsorship of panels and other events at the annual AHA meeting.

Section 3: The Advisory Board will be a non-voting body, functioning as an advisory forum for the President and Executive Committee in the discharge of their duties to the Society. The Advisory Board will comprise six senior historians who are willing to offer the benefit of their experience in advising the Officers and Executive Committee on matters relating to the entire remit of the Society’s functions. Members of the Advisory Board will be appointed by the President in consultation with the Executive Committee, and will serve at their pleasure.

Section 4: Elections for the incoming Vice-President/President Elect will be conducted every third year in October. Elections for a portion of the at-large membership of the Executive Committee will be conducted annually as well, in conformity with the staggered nature of that committee’s composition.

Article V
By-laws may be amended by a proposal from the Executive Committee ratified by at least 2/3 of the active membership of SAHSA in the year in which the proposal is brought forward.

Ratified in New York City on 01/03/2009.
Amended and ratified in New Orleans on 01/04/2013.